Mooresville Mill Village
| | Images | News | Leisure | Resources


News


News Archive
Opinion



Two Mill Houses Featured on Tour of Homes

Two Mill Village houses have been been selected for the Historic Mooresville Tour of Homes. For details about the tour, see its official website.

The McLelland Family House ca. 1923
328 Messick Street
By the time the Mill Village was completely built out in the early twenties, mill houses had become much smaller and the lots tighter. When the Mooresville Mills began selling off its tenements in the 50’s, many life-long tenants became homeowners without ever having dreamed they would. Paul and Mary McLeland purchased the house from the Mooresville Mills in 1954; the house remained in the McLeland family until Gayle and Rudy acquired the house in 2007. While respecting its humble size, decorator Gayle Rudisill of Rudisill Custom Homes has used her eye for design to highlight the potential of the 900 square foot cottage for a family of four.
 
419 Harris Street

The King Family House ca. 1917
419 Harris Street
This 1917 cottage was among a set of cottages built according to the principles to the Charlotte’s local cotton mill guru D.A. Tompkins. Tompkins advocated quality housing, spacious lots, and wide streets to ensure quality of life—and quality of work--for mill workers. Locally known as the King Family House, the charming bungalow’s interior has undergone a contemporary renovation, revealing its original beaded board walls, 10 foot ceilings, and double coal-burning fireplace.

For a look inside this house, see its page on zillow.com.

 

 

back to top


Mooresville Mill Village Initiative
last updated March 1, 2009